5 Epic Maine Lighthouses to Explore

Boon Island 

Boon Island Light is located about 8 miles from the nearest land. It's automated, so there's no lighthouse keeper. You can't visit the island, so the tower is best viewed from the water or air. 

Doubling Point 

Originally commissioned in 1898, Doubling Point Light was automated in 1988. It's 23 feet tall and of wood construction with a granite foundation. Another of the Kennebec River lights, it's closed to the public, but the grounds are open to the public.

Halfway Rock 

Located on a rocky ledge in Casco Bay, this white conical lighthouse isn't open to the public. Constructed in 1871 of granite and brick, it stands 76 feet tall.  

Rockland Breakwater 

The breakwater was constructed before the lighthouse, which can be visited during the summer months. It was made from brick in the Colonial Revival Style in 1902 and automated in 1974. The walk to the light on the breakwater is beautiful. 

Owls Head 

Constructed in 1852, the light was automated in 1989. The 30-foot round brick tower is open for visits, and the Keeper's House is an Interpretive Center for the American Lighthouse Foundation. 

Swipe Up for MORE Maine Lighthouses to Explore