5 Exhibits at the Museums of Old York Maine

Getting to Know the Museums of Old York

The Museums of Old York exist because of the merger of three historical societies — The Old York Historical and Improvement Society, the Old Gaol Museum Committee, and the Society for the Preservation of Historic Landmarks in York County. 

York Corner Schoolhouse

It was built in 1745 near York Corner and was used for more than 100 years to teach local schoolchildren. In the 1930s, it was relocated to become part of the Old York group of museums. 

Emerson-Wilcox Museum

Nowadays, it’s a museum that offers a chance to wander through 10 period rooms ranging from 1750 to 1850. The iconic L-shaped building has been interpreted to tell the history and stories of the people who came through, showcasing their attempts to make a living in early American civilization. 

Donnell-Hancock Warehouse

This building is the last commercial building from America’s colonial period on the York River. It was built in the mid-1700s by John Donnell. 

Make Plans to Visit the Museums of Old York

Whether you’re a native Mainer or an out-of-town history fanatic, the Museums of Old York offers a little bit of everything to anyone who visits. From awe-inspiring historic buildings to historic artifacts to eye-popping art to webinars about Maine history, there’s something for everyone here. 

Swipe Up for MORE about the Museums of Old York Maine